‘Merica!

November 11th: I am thankful for the sacrifices made by our military and their families, both serving past and present.

No matter where I go, who I meet or what I experience, I am an American.

I always knew this in a way that was obvious (born and raised in America, obvious conclusion: American). However, it wasn’t until I had the opportunity to spend a year living in Paris where my group of friends included those from all over the world that I realized I am American. I found that some of my values, beliefs and thought processes I had always thought of as “normal” are really a product of my American upbringing.

I am proud of being American; being brought up in a country that was founded in trust in God, believes in equality for all and champions forward thinking and innovation.

America is a country known for it’s Freedom.

A freedom bought with a price and it is with an overwhelming sense of gratitude that I recognize we continue to experience that Freedom due to the discipline, courage, and sacrifices made by our military men and women.

Next time you have the opportunity, show your gratitude to our men and women who have and are still serving in our military.

bisous,

Rebekah

Leave a Reply

