I can be your hero, baby!

20140527-162758.jpg

 

Oh, Enrique.

 

But, really.. I could be your hero. Or, at least someone’s hero.. And you could be mine (or someone’s), too!

 

Every 8 weeks I’m given the opportunity to play a part in saving a life because every 8 weeks the blood drive shows up outside of my work. That may seem intense – but it is so true! No one expects to need blood, but many do. Donating takes less than an hour and is a great way for a healthy individual to give to others in their community who are sick or injured. Each donation is an opportunity to help save multiple lives.

 

Something I recently learned from the Puget Sound Blood Center is that donating blood isn’t only great for others, but it is also great for you!

 

Here are a few reasons why:

· You receive a mini physical checkup (blood pressure, temperature, pulse, iron level)

· Your blood is sent to a lab, tested for any abnormalities and you are contacted if any show up

· Regular donations help keep iron levels in check (especially if you are male)

o Reduces heart disease, heart attacks and strokes

o Prevents damage that causes accelerated aging

· Consistent donations also lower the risks for various cancers

· Replenishing blood helps the body stay healthy, function more efficiently and work productively

 

And did I mention they give you free juice and cookies?

20140527-162834.jpg

 

If you’ve never donated before, I can’t encourage you enough to give it a try!

 

If you have donated, but it was a one-time deal, I’d recommend looking into doing it on an 8 week schedule. Many blood mobiles work hard to make it convenient to donate. I always donate when it comes to my work, but I know that a blood mobile also comes to my church every 8 weeks. My suggestion is to find a blood mobile convenient for you and stick to their schedule -that way you know you’re waiting the appropriate amount of time between donations while still giving as often as you’re able to and are allowed.

 

If you’re initial response is “nope, nada, ain’t gonna happen,” I’d stop for a moment and consider why?  If it has been a fear of needles, there are resources out there for you! Take a step in overcoming your fear while knowing that you won’t be the only one to benefit, but you will be given the opportunity to be someone’s hero.

 

I’d love to hear from you: do you already donate blood regularly? If you do, what made you start? If not, what has held you back?

 

bisous,

 

Rebekah

4 comments

  1. I want to give blood!!! How do I find out where a blood drive is in Pierce County?

    1. I looked up a website that seems to be a great way to find local opportunities. You’ll have to check it out and let me know when you go!

      http://bloodbanker.com

  2. Alexandra · · Reply

    Thanks for this post! I really appreciate it. I also love giving blood, but haven’t in the longest time. This inspires me to go back and donate again soon!

    1. Yes! That is awesome and exactly what I was hoping this post would do 🙂 Thanks for letting me know!

Leave a comment